ICAR Award Ceremony....Leapfrog to Frontier Areas of Research, Says Pawar
ICAR Award Ceremony....Leapfrog to Frontier Areas of Research, Says Pawar

ICAR Honoured 122 Scientists, 5 Institutions and 3 Farmers

New Delhi, 16 July 2010

While referring climate change as a major challenge for agricultural researchers and scientists, Sharad Pawar, Union Minister of Agriculture, Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution urged the scientific fraternity to leapfrog to frontier areas of research. This would give us necessary technology interventions to enable us to ensure sustainable agricultural growth in agriculture, he added.

Sharad Pawar was addressing august gathering of agricultural scientists, extension workers and farmers assembled here today to be honoured by the Indian Council of Agricultural Research. The Union minister congratulated all the distinguished award winners and hoped that the tradition of ICAR awards would go a long way in recognizing proficiency, sincerity and efficiency of researchers, extension workers and innovative farmers. To sustain food security in 2030, we need to bridge the investment and credit deficit, the infrastructure deficit, the market accessibility deficit, and knowledge and research deficit, he emphasized. In addition we need viable and credible strategies for the more backward of our regions, dryland areas, specific crops and specific categories of farmers, he suggested.


Awards-2009-1 Awards-2009-3


The Indian Council of Agricultural Research has been recognizing researchers and farmers for their outstanding contributions with awards every year on the eve of its foundation day, the 16th July. This year, 130 awardees under 11 different categories have been selected, comprising 5 institutions, 122 scientists and 3 farmers. Out of 122 scientists, 10 are women scientists.

Prof. K.V. Thomas, Minister of state for Agriculture, Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution wished all award winners and their families for the very best in their future endeavours and emphasized that new agricultural technologies must be delivered at the door-steps of farmers to accelerate productivity and enhance growth in agriculture. We must involve private sector in all strategic areas to harness potential of this sector, he added.

While congratulating award winners, Prof. M.S. Swaminathan, Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha) and Guest of Honour, said that recognition of young scientists provides ample encouragement to work with more zeal and enthusiasm. Appreciating ICAR for awarding progressive farmers, Prof. Swaminathan suggested to build a strong relationship with outstanding farmers so that their experiences and knowledge can be shared on a larger platform

Earlier, Dr. S. Ayyappan, Secretary, DARE and Director General, ICAR while welcoming awardees, their families and dignitaries, presented a glimpse of the future vision of the ICAR system and appreciated scientists for their contributions that are likely to benefit millions of Indian farmers.  He said that ICAR is venturing into newer and frontier areas to meet the challenges in the year 2030.

Shri  Rajiv Mehrishi, Additional Secretary, DARE and Secretary, ICAR presented vote of thanks.

(Source: NAIP sub-project on Mobilizing Mass Media Support for Sharing Agro-Information,DIPA)