Agricultural Extension Division

The major activities of Agricultural Extension Division are technology assessment, demonstration and capacity development through a network of 11 Agricultural Technology Application Research Institutes (ATARIs) and 731 Krishi Vigyan Kendras (KVKs). ATARIs play the role of coordination and monitoring with headquarters at Ludhiana, Jodhpur, Kanpur, Patna, Kolkata, Guwahati, Barapani, Pune, Jabalpur, Hyderabad and Bengaluru. The mandate of ATARIs are:

  1. Coordination and monitoring of technology application and frontline extension education programmes.
  2. Strengthening agricultural extension research and knowledge management.

The Agricultural Extension Division at National level is headed by Deputy Director-General (Agricultural Extension) and supported by two Assistant Director-Generals, three Principal Scientists, one Deputy Secretary and one Under Secretary.